Skip to main navigation.

2021 Scholarship Qualifications & Application

The CMS Electric Cooperative, Inc., scholarships are six (6) $1000.00 scholarships that are awarded annually to eligible applicants.

Purpose: To support development of effective leaders through educational opportunities.

Objective: To provide financial assistance to make it possible for six (6) high school graduates based upon scholastic and extra-curricular achievements to continue their education.

Scholarship Eligibility: Current high school seniors whose parents/guardians are members of CMS Electric Cooperative, Inc., are eligible to apply for these scholarships. Each applicant must intend to enroll as a full-time student in an accredited university or college, including junior, community, vocational or technical college. All applicants for the CMS Electric Scholarship shall be considered on the above criteria without regard to race, age, color, religion, gender, national origin, or existence of physical handicap.

Scholarship Criteria: Scholarship merit is based on three categories: Scholastic Achievement, School Extra-Curricular Activities and Community Activities

How to Apply: Students wishing to make applications should contact CMS Electric Cooperative, Inc. office, or a CMS Board Trustee from within the district in which they reside to obtain application forms, or print from the link below. Completed applications must be postmarked and/or returned to CMS Electric Cooperative, Inc. by Feburary 10, 2021.

Mail Applications to:
Scholarship Committee
CMS Electric Cooperative, Inc.
P.O. Box 790
Meade, KS 67864

Questions about the scholarship program should be directed to Kirk A. Thompson, CMS General Manager, at (620) 873-2184 or (800) 794-2353.

Selection Procedure: Selection is made by the scholarship committee of CMS Electric Cooperative, Inc. Applicants must be willing ot be interviewed by the committee, if necessary. Decisions made by this committee shall be final.

Runners-up will be selected in the event the recipient forfeits rights to the scholarship.

Payment of Scholarships: The scholarship recipients shall provide proof of college enrollment satisfactory to CMS Electric Cooperative, Inc. The Cooperative will then pay the institution. Should the recipient withdraw from college, payment of scholarship monies shall cease and reimbursement of unused monies shall be made to CMS Electric Cooperative, Inc.

Conditions: In the event the scholarship recipient receives financial assistance from other sources, which would constitute a full scholarship, the recipient shall notify CMS Electric Cooperative, Inc., and relinquish rights to the scholarship. The money shall then be awarded to the runner-up, provided that person continues to meet all criteria.

CMS Electric Cooperative, Inc. Board of Trustees

District 1

Rock Ormiston II, Kismet
Ron Oliver, Satanta
R. Gary Warden, Liberal

District 2

Wes McKinney, Englewood
Michael Johnson, Minneola
Linda Tomlinson, Minneola

District 3

Don Nighswonger, Coldwater
Joe Murphy, Protection
Keith Randall, Ashland

Scholarship Application {Application Link}

Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo